Posted by: LucidMystery | August 7, 2013

A Marathon, Not a Sprint

I’ve been really bogged down lately by school. In theory, I am close enough to the finish line that the balloons and and cheering crowds should start appearing on either sides of the street soon. In reality, I still feel a hundred miles away–discouraged, running out of energy, and broken from things I’ve had to miss or give up along the way.

If you know me, you know that I hate being a Debbie Downer. Part of what I have disliked about the past few years is that I have felt myself turning into a stressed out whiner…eep! So to counteract some recent overwhelming anxiety, I’ve compiled some quotes and Bible verses about overcoming challenges and obstacles. Maybe this will help one of you out there, too!

“If you aren’t in over your head, how do you know how tall you are?” –T.S. Eliot

“The Lord is the everlasting God, the creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and His understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary, and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” –Isaiah 40:28-31

“Bad times have a scientific value. These are occasions a good learner would not want to miss.” –Ralph Waldo Emerson

“In this world you will have trouble, but take heart! I have overcome the world.”–John 16:33b

“It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard is what makes it great.” –A League of Their Own

“No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, I will be with you. I will never leave you nor forsake you.” –Joshua 1:5

“Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, and difficulty.” –Theodore Roosevelt

And because I can’t get away from Disney, just imagine that the “dream” is my degree and “believing” is working in the lab…

“A dream is a wish your heart makes when you’re fast asleep…no matter how your heart is grieving, if you keep on believing, the dream that you wish will come true.”

 

Image

Leave a Reply

Categories

