Posted by: LucidMystery | August 20, 2010

Memory Lane…

Well, it most certainly sounds like me to follow up theology and an extended absence with cartoons!

Somedays, I just feel tired of being a grown-up, and this is most certainly one of them! When I get in this kind of mood, I resort to the old and the familiar…Disney! But I don’t mean the modern world of Disney, all CGI and no songs. Don’t get me wrong, I teared up during both “Toy Story 3” and “Up,” and who can’t laugh at “Monsters Inc!” Still, there was something magic about the old Disney movies, and whatever that was, it’s gone now. Maybe it was the gentle beauty and geniuine artistry behind the old hand-drawn films, maybe it was seeing all of the bedtime fairytales living out their stories on the screen, or maybe it was just that magic touch from old Walt himself, Whatever it is, sometimes I just need to get a little of it in my system to keep me from going crazy in the dreaded “real world.”

This one is an anthem of sorts. Who hasn’t had a good dream they wished they hadn’t awakened from? Especially when the real life you go back to isn’t the most exciting. This song is the hopeful song you can hum to yourself in the morning 🙂

Mmmm, this one plays with love-at-first-sight, more of those wishing dreams, and cute little animal friends. Where can you go wrong?

This one isn’t as old as the previous two, but I was only 6 or 7 when the movie came out, so it still brings me back.  I can’t quite determine what makes this song so heartachingly beautiful…I guess it just…is.

And last but most certainly not least, the epitome of Disney magic at its height. This one just brings back memories of being a kid with mom, dad, and my sister at Disney World, watching the fireworks and wishing I could be the girl who played Tinkerbell 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

