Posted by: LucidMystery | April 9, 2009

Giving Their Last

Anyone driving through Pittsburgh today knew that something was awry. Helicopters hovered low, roads were closed, traffic was horrendous, police and fire stations stood empty, and sirens could be heard all over the city for the better part of the day. The reason for this state was the memorial service for three police officers killed this past weekend by a random crazy whose only reasoning was to stick to Obama and gun control (brilliant logic, eh?)

The tragedy hit the city hard. One of the officers was even an alumnus of my own school and our flags waved at half-mast all this week. That gesture of grief seems painfully simple, though. I can’t even imagine what those officers’ families are going through right now, especially now as Easter rises on the horizon. Two of the men were dads with young kids. The third was engaged to be married.

Since I relate everything back to music, I wanted to find a song for them. The closest I could come across was actually a song that Tim McGraw wrote for soldiers in Iraq; but in all reality, it’s just as fitting for those men as it is for the soldiers. I guess the only difference is that they weren’t an ocean away from their families beforehand, but I highly doubt that is making the situation any easier for anyone right now.

So, Eric Kelly, Stephen Mayhle, and Paul Sciullo…this one is for you. Thank you for giving your last to protect our city.

 

If You’re Reading This

If you’re reading this
My momma is sitting there
Looks like I only got a one way ticket over here
I sure wish I could give you one more kiss
War was just a game we played when we were kids
Well I’m laying down my gun
I’m hanging up my boots
I’m up here with God
And we’re both watching over you

So lay me down
In that open field out on the edge of town
And know my soul
Is where my momma always prayed where it would go.
If you’re reading this I’m already home.

If you’re reading this
Half way around the world
I won’t be there to see the birth of our little girl
I hope she looks like you
I hope she fights like me
Stand up for the innocent and the weak
I’m laying down my gun
Hanging up my boots
Tell dad I don’t regret that I followed in his shoes

So lay me down
In that open field out on the edge of town
And know my soul is where my momma always prayed where it would go
If you’re reading this, I’m already home

If you’re reading this, there is going to come a day
You move on and find someone else and that’s okay
Just remember this
I’m in a better place
Soldiers live in peace and angels sing amazing grace

So lay me down
In that open field out on the edge of town
And know my soul is where my momma always prayed where that it would go
If you’re reading this
If you’re reading this
I’m already home

Responses

  1. I didn’t hear about this. It is really sad.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

