Posted by: LucidMystery | February 14, 2009

Happy Singles’ Awareness Day!

Hello everyone! Before I begin my lovely day that will be spent with my number 1 cutie (myself), I thought I would share my plans for this most romantic and charming of days:

  • Do laundry
  • Vacuum and and sweep apartment floors
  • Tidy up my stuff that has arranged itself into piles
  • Do the dishes
  • Take out the trash and the recycling
  • Spritz something that smells pretty in the room
  • Watch a depressingly chirpy chick flick while eating ice cream right out of the carton

 

Are you as filled with pity for me as I am for myself yet?  😉

Ok, so I don’t have the most fun day planned, but the last item on the list probably won’t happen since I am going to hang out with people tonight (thank heavens!) The crazy thing is though, all sarcasm and joking aside, I’m really not that annoyed or blech-feeling today. I don’t really need anyone right now, so today suits me just fine. And I can even get away with wearing more pink than usual! (All you pink-haters, cringe in fear 😉 )

Think about it this way First, I’m kind of broke, but I would have had to buy a Valentine’s Day present for somebody. Second, I spend way too much time either in the lab, grading papers, doing homework, etc, so I actually don’t have a lot of time to spare for someone else. Third, and this is an issue, I enjoy catching that good-looking guy’s eye too much 😉 Can’t get away with that so easily if you’re with someone. Finally, I think the big thing is that I don’t particularly want to be just messing around with anyone because I don’t want to set myself up for a depressing few weeks during a break up; and since I’m nowhere near any thought of getting married yet, there really isn’t a point in trying to find “the one.”

So let’s see, I’m saving my money, I can use my time how I want, I can flirt with whomever I want, and no heartbreak involved….so why is Singles’ Awareness Day a bad thing again?

Responses

  1. Hahaha. I love that you are your number 1 cutie. So true.

    I highly recommend /He’s Just Not That Into You/. It’s cute and funny. Just like you.

    I, too, am planning to do laundry today! We have so much in common. Will you be my valentine?

    Like

  2. Of course I will; I thought you would never ask! 😉

    But I did see He’s Just Not That Into You and I loved it! It was so true on so many levels.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

