Posted by: LucidMystery | February 4, 2009

Guilty Pleasures

Today on my way back from eagle trapping, Britney Spears’ song “Circus” came on. At the moment, I was too intent on trying not to lose control of my car in the awful snow  to really pay attention…until the chorus when I realized I was singing along. I was a little shocked, I actually know that song? Then, to add to my horror, I realized that I kinda, sorta, really like that song. Not that the lyrics have any profound meaning or that the sound has any real innovation to it. Yet I like it….????? So I quickly analyzed this discovery and decided to categorize it as a guilty pleasure. Then I started thinking about the other items in this rather large filing cabinet. I thought I would share them with you, whether you find this amusing or you are just embarrassed for me.

  • Ok, that dumb Britney Spears song, along with a few others of hers.
  • The comedians Ralphie May and Dane Cook. Both of them can be the most potty-mouthed guys you will ever come across, but some of their material is ridiculously hilarious!
  • Apple pie/cobbler/crisp/crumble a la mode from pretty much anywhere. I just know that any of those versions of this magically delicious dessert are enough calories for a week, but I can’t stop!
  • My semi-daily Starbucks. I’m pretty sure it kills my bank account faster than anything else I do.
  • Day dreams where I’m incredibly famous and a guest on Jay Leno. Completely redonk? I completely agree 😉
  • Baths in my parents giant whirlpool tub. It takes up two rounds of the water heater to fill that thing, and is thus as un-green as it gets. But sometimes, I just need an hour to relax in there with some candles burning and Josh Groban playing.
  • A-Teens. Shut up! They aren’t that bad.
  • Any Muppet movie. I should have outgrown those when I was maybe…8? But no. I still like them. Especially Muppet Treasure Island and The Great Muppet Caper.
  • Home-style cooking. You can feel your arteries clogging as you eat, but nothing beats serious fried chicken with mashed potatoes and corn or bacon and eggs with buttermilk biscuits.
  • Scrawny little red-headed Rick Astley–“Never gonna give you up, never gonna let you down, never gonna run around and desert you. Never gonna make you cry, never gonna say goodbye, never tell a lie and hurt you.” Enough said.
  • The Columbus Clippers. Yes I’m a fan! Yes, they’re a farm team. No, they never win. Bah.

 

Ok, I’m done spilling. If I have any more guilty pleasures, they will remain a secret… 

😉

Responses

  1. Maria! I too enjoy A-teens! Guitly Pleasure! I can’t wait to see you this weekend!!

    Like

  2. Hahahaha…I love that last line.

    I, too, take candlelit baths while listening to music, though mine is Regina Spektor, not Josh Groban.

    You should try for more local coffee shops instead of Starbucks.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

