Posted by: LucidMystery | January 21, 2009

Oh Blast It All

Why do I usually have to learn my lessons the hard way? Bah!

Though I’m tempted to hide my last post, I’m going to leave it up as a reminder to myself not to leap before I look, talk before I think, or fly off the handle when I’m aggravated.

You will probably notice the post in question was sort of a response to another post about abortion I had read earlier in the evening. After reading that blog and a few of the hundreds of responses to it, my blood was thoroughly boiling (I’ve established that I’m a passionate person, right?) at the thought of so many people at once who approved of abortion. Naturally, I penned my counterargument in full Maria’s-ticked-off style, full of anger, resentment, and any other emotion flying through my head. I titled it with a slight mockery of the other post, and included little bits of sarcasm. I even included a link to the antagonist.

What I didn’t count on, though, was that the original author of that post would come over to my blog and read what I had written. You can scroll down and notice that he responded, and very courteously, I might add.

So now I feel like a jerk. And worse, I also fit into the category Gandhi talked about when he said that liked Christ but not Christians. The man who wrote that other blog is a former believer now searching for his own truth. I shudder to think that hypocritical people like me might have helped break him from the church. I apparently have no problem blasting people who make choices I don’t approve of, but at the same time I sound condemning and hateful. Score 1 for Jesus. This is one of those moments where He’s probably wishing He was allowed to pretend that He doesn’t know me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

