Posted by: LucidMystery | December 6, 2008

Some Most Excellent Composers and Their Movies

        

 

Since I made a reference to James Horner in my last post, I thought I would pay homage to the rest of my favorite soundtrack composers. For me, a movie is nothing without the score. I hated Sea Biscuit because I felt the music could have been better. As the drama or intensity of scene increased, the music crescendo-d (? I don’t know how to change the tense on that), but when I felt like the scene was at a peak, the music just fell. No explosion of percussion, no strings all going nuts together, no blaring of brass, the music just slowly fell. Nope, can’t do it. The following composers all wrote “classics” in the soundtrack world (ok, Chariots of Fire isn’t on here, sorry), and each man wrote many more than what I listed (Hans Zimmer has done over a hundred movies), but I just picked either what I have in my collection, or what I’m aiming to buy. (Or in the case of Cool Runnings, I just really like the movie.) The following composers are listed in order of Awesomeness:

Hans Zimmer (the man is a genius; there’s no ryhme or reason to the genres he excels in. He’s just good.)

  • The Lion King
  • Dark Knight
  • Batman Begins
  • Pearl Harbor
  • Kung Fu Panda
  • Gladiator
  • The Prince of Egypt
  • Muppet Treasure Island
  • Cool Runnings
  • A League of Their Own
  • The Holiday
  • Da Vinci Code
  • The Last Samuri

John Williams (btw, the name is ’nuff said; this guy is master of trilogies)

  • Star Wars
  • Harry Potter
  • Indiana Jones
  • Jurassic Park
  • Jaws

James Horner (often heartbreakingly beautiful)

  • Braveheart
  • Titanic
  • Legends of the Fall
  • Troy
  • A Beautiful Mind
  • Deep Impact
  • Apollo 13

Klaus Badelt (great for the non-law-abiders and Orlando Bloom)

  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Ned Kelly

Harry Gregson-Williams (epic battle music)

  • Chronicles of Narnia
  • Kingdom of Heaven
  • Shrek

Trevor Rabin (adventure-inspiring)

  • National Treasure
  • Remember the Titans
  • Armageddon

Howard Shore (and I saw him LIVE!!! He conducted the Columbus Symphony Orchestra playing LOTR music when I was in high school.)

  • Lord of the Rings
  • That Thing you Do
  • The Aviator

Randy Edelman (not the most well-known name, but fabulous music)

  • Last of the Mohicans (with Trevor Jones)
  • Dragonheart

Mark Mancina (don’t know a lot about him, but I liked these two)

  • August Rush
  • Tarzan
Leave a Reply

Categories

