Posted by: LucidMystery | November 20, 2008

Turkey-O-Rama

I would just like to take this moment to say how much I love Thanksgiving! Besides the fact that it’s the lead-in to Christmas, it’s great all on it’s own! Who doesn’t love to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade (and giggle at the lip-synching performers) or grab a football and run outside after your stomach is heavily laden with food? Or the best part, take pictures of Papa’s post-dinner nap, which usually consists of him in a recliner, in front of a football game, with his sugar-free pumpkin-pie plate slipping to the floor as his head slowly tips to one side. I’m trying to think, but I believe family albums have him in that exact pose every year since 1984. But all joking aside, I do love this season! It’s almost as though the very air is tinged with spices, and the reds, golds, and oranges seem to have gotten over popping out at you and instead gently graze the landscape waiting for winter’s first big snow. Oh Thanksgiving!!

First, let’s talk the obvious: The Food. Turkey, mashed potatoes, corn, sweet potatoes with marshmallows and walnuts and dribbly brown sugar glaze, canned cranberry goodness, crescent rolls (also canned, but muy fabulouso!), green beans, pumpkin pie, apple pie, chocolate cream pie, and Mylanta. Oh ’tis a good thing! When you get with my dad’s side of the family, my mom’s side obviously doesn’t celebrate it…seeing as it’s not a holiday over there, but like I said, when you get with my dad’s side of the family, it is NOT family get together unless we’re eating. I have seven first cousins and three second cousins with whom I have fairly regular contact, and I think it’s a family trait that we can eat. I think one of my uncles can eat a whole turkey by himself and go back for stuffing. Come to think of it, two of my cousins could probably do that too…and I know my youngest cuz Sarah-Jo would say that she could 😉

But that’s another reason I love about Thanksgiving: The Family. We don’t get together as a collective unit very often, since my aunts, uncles, and grown-up cousins are all so spread out, but Thanksgiving is the one time of year, even more so than Christmas, when there are pretty good odds that I’ll see a bunch of the folks.  And like all families, we’re a wacky bunch; but it’s a good time. But mind you, my Mama combines the food aspect with the family aspect, inasmuch cas no family member can turn down her food. I even heard a rumor she’s making the Coca-Cola cake this year. Never heard of a Coca-Cola cake? Oh, be jealous, my friend. Be jealous. It’s down-home Southern magic in a cake pan.

 

What else do I love about Thanksgiving: The Movie. It seems to be a pretty regular family tradition that we always go see a movie in the evening, after everyone has gotten over their high doses of tryptophan. This year, I think I’m going to make a strong push for the movie Twlight. I think it comes out tonight, but I doubt I will see it until then.

 

But after Thanksgiving, then we have the Christmas season! I’m not a fan of Christmas starting in October, so I try to keep the holiday cheer from creeping up on me until at least the week of Turkey Day. My immediate family has our own day-after-Thanksgiving celebration. We might hit a few Black Friday sales, but I’m most insistent upon the next point: the trimming of the tree. After a disastrous incident a decade or so back involving hammers, nails, broken trees and a lot of swearing, my dad gave up on the real tree thing, and we’ve had fakes ever since. Not that I’m complaining, the fake ones are pre-lit! My only deal is that we put up the tree the day after Thanskgiving. While watching White Christmas. There’s nothing like some Bing Crosby and Danny Kay to kick off the season’s festivities, and it just wouldn’t be Christmas without them! To that effect, I also prefer that we have peppermint ice cream after the tree is done, but that is one point I’m negotiable on.

 

I’m getting so excited writing about this! The day after tomorrow, I’m going home, I’ll be there for a week, I’ll see my friends, chill with the fam, eat a week’s worth of calories in one day….*squeal* I can’t wait!!!!

Responses

  1. Did you know that the other actress in /White Christmas/ (not Rosemary Clooney) died of anorexia? Did you know that her eating disorder caused her neck to age so much that all her costumes for that movie hid her neck? Including her nightgown! It’s so sad. I knew, watching her dance, that her thighs were way too far apart to be healthy.

    Like

  2. I’m missing out 😦
    I can’t wait for the Christmas season and all of the old classics…for you it might be “White Christmas” but for me, it has always been “Miracle on 34th Street” since it features the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade. Navidad is so different here…I want to snuggle up with hot chocolate and my Christmas classics, but can’t. Do you think I could squeeze them all in from the 23rd to the 25th? Possible or crazy?

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

