Posted by: LucidMystery | May 28, 2008

Prayer

I just wanted to say this for especially all of the girls out there who might be struggling with some of the same self-image issues I have dealt with for a long time.

No one has ever told me to my face that pride is an issue for me, but I am slowly learning that what I suffer from is arrogance. That’s right, arrogance. While some might describe what I experience more as a lack of self-esteem rather than arrogance (don’t they sound polar opposite?), last year at Spring Retreat, I remember something striking that the speaker pointed out.  The Bible describes us as being made in the image of God, thus a perfect image (just more earthly). It also says that once we have accepted Christ, we are perfect in God’s eyes because our sins are forgiven. If the Bible clearly states that God considers me perfect, how arrogant do I have to be to challenge that and say that I am not? Yes, I’m a sinner; but I know my Savior. No, I’m not the worldly definition of a Heidi Klum knock-out, but I was made in God’s image and He calls His daughters beautiful. Strangely, as ecocentric as I am, I find these statements hard to believe; but Jesus loved me enough to die for me and make them true. Ladies, we are beautiful. If we have a perfect Creator, He isn’t going to make something He finds ugly. If this world tells us there is something wrong, they are right. Something is wrong with them. God wanted me to be 6 feet tall with dark blond quirky hair, real hips that don’t fit into Abercrombie jeans, and a combination between my mom and dad’s noses. And guess what, that makes me beautiful.

Learning to tell myself this has taken a lot of time and effort, and when I find myself in trouble, I grab my Bible. (Funny, isn’t it? When something good happens, I congratulate myself; but when something bad happens, then I turn to God. I still have a long way to go.) Although I do look up new stuff pretty often using BibleGateway.com, sometimes I just need to hear some familiar verses that never fail to calm me down. These may seem like fairly standard hi-I-memorized-that-in-first-grade-Sunday-school-thank-you-very-much verses; but I would encourage you to not just read the words but hear them as though you’ve never really listened.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galations 5:22-23

The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.  Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you. Psalms 9:9-10

A patient man has great understanding, but a quick-tempered man displays folly. Proverbs 14:29

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12

Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40:30-31

Leave a Reply

Categories

