Posted by: LucidMystery | May 18, 2008

For Narnia!

Oh, ladies and gentlemen, Prince Caspian makes me want to brandish a sword and yell indiscriminately whilst running amok an army of Telemarines alongside Peter the Magnificent. I think I’ve mentioned on this blog before my obsession with fantasy, and movies like the Chronicles of Narnia only feed this madness! It’s downright unhealthy. But then again, because of Narnia, I was inspired to have one of the best days I’ve experienced this quarter.

Late in the afternoon, the sun came out from behind the clouds and began to gently whisper my name. Unable to ignore a call to the great outdoors, I packed up a bag of costumes, called few of my wonderful friends and scurried down to the wooded part of the park where an evening of photo shoots ensued. Most of us were dressed Medieval or gypsy-esque, and it was so much fun to just run through the woods, waving my $25 sword I found in Gatlinburg and pretending we were fighting the forces of an unknown evil.

Well, naturally, even though we were starved for dinner, no one would want that kind of fun to end. Therefore, dinner at Fazoli’s was livened by our attire–which was still Medieval and/or gypsy. A few restaurant patrons muttered to themselves that must have just seen the Chronicles of Narnia, but all of us were too die-hard to have waited two days to see it! Midnight showings are where its at. (Ok, Kristy saw it that day, not at midnight, but we wouldn’t hold that against her.) Still, with talk of this epic movie floating about, who could resist the idea of seeing it again?

So we did.

I have to say, going to see a movie while in full costume makes it so much more enjoyable, and I have come to appreciate the looks on peoples’ faces that clearly say “Uuuh…weirdo.” Plus, I can swirl my huge skirt around the lobby while waiting for people to run to the car, go to bathroom, get popcorn, etc. Brianna and I have matching skirts, which makes it all even more fun! I’d have to say though, the only downfall to seeing a movie in that particular outfit I wearing is that sitting for two and half hours in a bodice complete with boning can get a pinch uncomfortable. Now mind you, I was only wearing a bodice, not my corset. That would have been torture!

Now, by this point, it’s around 1:00 am and I’ve been running around dressed like a peasant since 5:30, so you’d think I’d be ready to call the masquerade a day…nope! The conclusion was even more amazing! Bethany, Chris and I trekked back down to the park, still dressed all wonky (though Chris was dressed almost normal). To cap the experience, though, it was pouring rain with lightning and thunder crashing down around us. It was awesome! We blazed through some back trails, just barely able to see the ground, and finally concluded our night hike back on the bike trail. It was kind of amusing, too, that we saw some people farther down the path, and as soon as they saw us, they quickened their pace significantly. I guess some people just don’t know what to do when they see three mysterious hooded and cloaked figure emerging from the woods during a thunderstorm in the middle of the night.

And so ended a magical evening. After walking back up from the park, I climbed into my car (a reminder of reality) and drove back to my apartment where I wanted to be sure I could document this series of adventures. Maybe next time we try this, I’ll find Prince Caspian himself and we’ll ride off into a Narnian sunset.

By the way, on a more serious note, remind me in the future to talk about some of the amazing theology in the Chronicles of Narnia. C.S. Lewis was a genius!! 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

