Posted by: LucidMystery | March 8, 2008

Haiku

 Haiku (hī’kōō)–A form of Japanese poetry. A haiku expresses a single feeling or impression and contains three unrhymed lines of five, seven, and five syllables, respectively.

A little over a week ago, I decided to brave public humiliation and enter a haiku contest sponsored by the English department. The nature of the contest would be face an opponent and read your haiku against theirs, the person with the best 3 out of 5 haiku advancing to the next round and face another person with five more haiku. Fate snickered at me when I was paired opposite Alec Volpe, last year’s winner. His haiku are mysterious and thought provoking. Mine are over-dramatic, whiny, or mildly humorous.

I should mention I wasn’t incredibly prepared to compete since I didn’t even start writing until 20 minutes before the contest, though I won’t claim that procrastination was the root of my defeat. With all that being said, I did enjoy writing them under pressure. It was a rush…a nerdy rush, yes…but still exciting.

Though I was by no means bummed that they all were not read aloud, I thought I would share my favorite ones that might have been read that night. (Actually a few of these I did read, I think, but oh well.)

Dawning

Awakening with

The horizon’s setting sun

A fiery passion

 

 

 

 Don’t Come Back for Five to Seven Days

Ice cream, Diet Coke,

Brownies, burritos, Cheetohs,

A PMS day

 

 

 Broken

Foolish girl, you are,

Blinded by the jaded heart

You wrought on yourself

 

 

 Nature

An ecosystem

The balance of life and death

Symbiotic truth

 

 

 Alone

A screaming battle,

All within my darkened head,

Someone please find me

 

 

 Call the Geek Squad

The fateful blue screen

That just destroyed my homework

I hate computers

 

 

 The World Around Me

Anthropogenic

War, disease, and slavery

Man-made or man killed?

 

 

 Booooo

The haiku goddess

Did not smile on me today

She mocked my efforts

 

 

 

Failing

The storm is growing

A downpour of pain, tears, and

Thundering anger

Responses

  1. Everyone loved the P.M.S. one, though Dr. Gorman did point out that your three judges were all female….

    I was so proud of you! I’m glad you competed. I was impressed.

    Like

  2. Very good written.

    Like

  3. bleak harvest
    the rain fails to visit
    the rice field

    Like

  4. Please don’t be put off by haiku contests. Check our’s out, it’s for a good cause too. 😉

    Alan, With Words

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

