Posted by: LucidMystery | February 20, 2008

The Dentist and the Gobstopper

 

Someone tell me this: Why, when I just got back from having a cavity refilled at the dentist, did I come home and straight away pop some Everlasting Gobstoppers at my apparently cantankerous teeth? Did I learn nothing from the whining buzz of the drill being right at my ear? Do I want more cavities to dot my already unholy holey mouth? Everlasting Gobstoppers prolong sugar exposure since they’re jawbreakers and thus take longer to dissolve. Longer exposure to sugar means longer exposure to the acids your body produces to help break down the sugars, and the acid can do a number to your teeth. But as an added bonus, the sugars also provide food for the bacteria who inhabit every mouth, and these bacteria can also contribute to tooth decay since they make even more acid! So basically, I’m killing my teeth. Nevermind how often I brush, floss, or swishy-swishy the fluoride, I’m killing my teeth by fueling on all of the antagonists involved in cavity formation.

Sweet.

Responses

  1. My dentist told me that it’s not prolonged exposure to sugar, but repeated exposure to sugar. For instance—it’s better to have gum in your mouth for a long period of time than it is to take sips of soda every so often. It’s about frequency rather than duration. I think our dentists should duel!

    Like

  2. That’s true. But my problem is I constantly am eating stuff, I should have clarified. If there is an open box of candy, I’m getting into it all the time. So I’m hitting both worlds(frequency and exposure duration).

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

